How to power the air sensor kit

I’m a noob in electronics but managed to build the air sensor kit #1 with the guide. But… the guide stops to soon. It doesn’t give examples how to power the sensor outdoors. Can you guys help me with some options?

1. Using the power outlet indoors, but I need to drill a hole for the micro USB cable.
  • i’m reading on the internet about needing a repeater when using a cable > 5m?
  1. Using the power outlet outdoors
  • Can’t find a waterproof 230v to micro-usb adapter
  • Can I use a extender box (like this) where i put the USB-adapter in the box? Or is it going to give heat problems?

Thanks in advance!

1. Using the power outlet indoors, but I need to drill a hole for the micro USB cable.

It is not necessary to make a hole if you pass it through a window near with the rubber gaskets and better if the USB cable is flat, as recommended in Kit1. Now I am testing and I have a wide cable and it does not cut.
Regards.

Try using a slim usb cable. It can fit nicely even with closed windows!
https://ru.aliexpress.com/item/Micro-USB-Samsung-Xiaomi-Redmi/32960542022.html

Powering Sensor Kit at distances over 5 meters may be tricky in some situations. SDS011 to work properly requires at least 4.7V. Lower voltage may result in wrong readings - mostly because of different fan speed and laser performance (I’ve tested that in my LAB). Also please take in consideration that some dev boards (eg. NodeMCU V2) have protective diode between USB and 5V pin - that will add 0,2-0,3V of voltage drop. A valid option may be finding 5,2V USB power supply.