SDS011 fan stopped suddenly

Hi all,

An electronics noob here trying to build an AQI station using Nova SDS011 and a Raspberry pi. The sensor was working flawlessly but suddenly the fan stopped working and now I see a red light with a blinking green light on the USB connector of the sensor along with a blinking red light on the back of the sensor. The sensor also makes two very faint click sounds every few seconds. Here is a short video of the usb connector for reference.

I wrote this python script to gather data from the sensor and send it to my feed on Adafruit IO:

import serial, time, urllib.request, urllib.error
from Adafruit_IO import RequestError, Client, Feed
#key removed for security purposes
aio = Client('wisekaiser', '')

ser = serial.Serial('/dev/ttyUSB0')

def wait_for_internet_connection():
    while True:
        try:
            response = urllib.request.urlopen('http://www.google.com/', timeout=1)
            return
        except urllib.error.URLError:
            pass

def main():
    while True:
        data = []
        for index in range(0,10):
            datum = ser.read()
            data.append(datum)

pmtwofive = int.from_bytes(b''.join(data[2:4]), byteorder='little') / 10
        pmten = int.from_bytes(b''.join(data[4:6]), byteorder='little') / 10

print('PM2.5: ', pmtwofive)
        print('PM10: ', pmten)

aio.send('pragatitwofive', pmtwofive)
        aio.send('pragatiten', pmten)

time.sleep(10)

wait_for_internet_connection()
main()

I’m running this as a cron job by using sudo crontab -e. This is the entry inside the crontab file:
@reboot python3 /home/raspberry/Desktop/airquality.py >>/home/raspberry/Desktop/log.text 2>&1

Any ideas on what’s wrong here and how to fix this?

The blinking led on the USB2TTL dongle seems normal to me anyway.
Can you plug the USB2TTL dongle directly on a normal computer and use the instruction screen or the serial monitor of the Arduino IDE to read what the SDS011 sends ?