Cleaning the sensor & Sensor Life

Hi everyone!

Quoting from the website, with measurements being taken every 150 seconds, the SDS011 would have an approximate life expectancy of 5 years.

Does this device have to be periodically cleaned? (if so… how?) Or can it just run for 5 years without ever having to be cleaned?
Would the sensor life be extended by cleaning it?

And… How do you know the device’s life is “up”?

Just curious how others are dealing with this. Thanks!

I too am interested in this. I have been running two sensor systems for 8 months. I think the SDS011s are OK but one of the met sensors is reading a very high value for humidity. It is reading 20% higher than the other one. Perhaps it is time for some general maintenance. Everyone… any thoughts on what maintenance is required?

Maintnance is bein recommended, at least by the Bulgarian branch of the sensor community. For more info on how to clean your sensor see the link below and google translate it into your language:

In a nutshell: Cleaning is recommended once a year, most critical are removing dirt in the colorless plastic tube, checking if there is dirt in the fan, if all the contacts are still connected, if there is rust on the contacts gently brushing it off.

2 Likes

Thank you very much for the link. The procedure looks straight forward. In case anyone wants an English version of the text please find it below. I think I might maintain ours now (after 8 months) so the suggested 12 months might be a little long for us but that could depend on location etc.

The translation:

Hello like-minded person!

We are already entering the heating season and it is time to do our annual maintenance.

It is very easy and we will all be grateful for the little time you have to spend - 10-15 minutes!

ACCESSORIES REQUIRED:

paintbrush or soft toothbrush;
tweezers if needed;
lubrication if necessary;
running water;
your diligence and desire.

WORKING PROCEDURE:

1. Unplug the station