Airrohr flasher: failed to connect to espressif device: timed out waiting for packethead

hello everyone, im new to the sensor Community and i have a problem with my SDS011. when i press upload in the airrohr flasher i get the message: failed to connect to espressif device: timed out waiting for packethead. board: n/a (com4) firmware software: latest_en.bin. does anyone know what to do? thanks!

Check the following:

1. Software has enough rights to use connection port. Run under admin user if needed.
  2. Change USB cable for a shorter one.
  3. Try another computer to flash NodeMCU

The firmware flasher is supposed to flash the ESP8266 not the SDS011. The cable as to be a real data one (most of the time the short cables are) not a cable to charge the battery. Did you install the CH341 driver ?

yes i installed the CH341 driver and i use a short cable (not a cable to charge a battery). when i try to flash the ESP8266 it does say its connecting but then i get the same message. i run it under admin user but that also dint work.

greetings, i am having the same problem, chip detection works but the firmware flash always fails with the timeout error. i have tried at least a dozen of different usb cables and two computers, on one of them i tried also on windows just to be sure and it does the very same…can it be a problem with the board itself? is there any blinking leds supposed to come up during operation? so far only one, blue, flashes once very quickly when you connect the board and then nothing…any suggestions are appreciated

Maybe it is a new kind of ESP8266 (is it really exactly this microcontroller?) and you have to press the RST and FLASH buttons at some points as we had to do in the past. It would explain the timeout error of @uovobw.

Alternatively you can use the Arduino IDE. Without flashing with it you could firstly monitor the COM port to see what happens when the board is plugged to the computer (but close the SC flasher app to avoid COM conflict).